Publiboda

Getting married in Delaware

IMPORTANT NOTE: Marriage laws and license requirements change continually, so please check the latest information with your local marriage license bureau office or county clerk's office before making your wedding or travel plans, and before inviting your guests.

Both applicants must be present to apply. Both applicants must present a valid driver's license or birth certificate when applying.

Who may apply for a marriage license

Applicants for a marriage license do not have to be a resident of Delaware.

Both applicants must be at least 18 years old to obtain a marriage license. Minors must petition Family Court for authorization to marry (302) 255-0300.

Cousin marriages are not permitted in Delaware.

ID requirements

Both parties must appear together in person with positive ID (Valid Driver's license, or Valid State Issued ID, or Certified Birth Certificate, or Valid Passport, or Military ID Card).

Previous marriages

All parties must produce a Certified Final Decree of divorce/annulment or a Certified Death Certificate. These will be returned at application.

If a female applicant has divorced and taken back her maiden name, she must bring with her the original or certified copy of the name change court documents. No photocopies accepted.

Blood tests and other tests

No tests are required.

Marriage ceremonies and witnesses

Marriage ceremonies can be held in any location in Delaware. For example, the Sussex County Clerk Office officiates Memorable Marriage ceremonies anywhere in Sussex County. The sites may include, but are not limited to, the County Clerk Office, the Sussex County Council chambers, historical Delaware sites, firehouses, scenic beaches, clubs, and private homes.

Two witnesses are required to sign the marriage certificate.

Officiants

Any ordained minister of the gospel and every minister in charge of a recognized church may perform marriages. Ministers do not need to be licensed to perform marriages but they must report their name and address to the local registrar in the district in which they live. Ministers must keep the marriage license or a copy for at least one year. Also, the minister must, within 4 days, complete and return forms required by the State Board of Health to the clerk of the peace.

Fees

The cost of a Delaware Marriage License is $50 for residents / $75 non-residents (cash only).

Waiting period

There is a waiting period of 1 day after the marriage license is issued.

Validity of license

The license is valid for 30 days, and can only be used within the State of Delaware.

Copy of marriage certificate

Certified copies are available from the County in which the license was obtained, or for marriage records from 1948 contact:

Office of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19903

For more information

Here is a list of county clerk offices in the state of Delaware:

Kent County Clerk of the Peace
555 South Bay Road
Dover, DE 19901-4617
302.744.2346

New Castle Clerk of the Peace
800 North French Street
Wilmington, DE
302.395.7780

Sussex County Administrative Office Building
2 The Circle, 2nd Floor, Room 268
P.O. Box 29
Georgetown, DE 19947
302.855.7834

Related articles:

Your comments

Comments (0)






Allowed tags: <b><i><br>Add a new comment:


Advertising

We recommend